1. Help Centre
  2. How to's
  3. Sharing and collaborating

How to Invite and remove users

Inviting and sharing with members of your team will allow you to collaborate with them in real-time in Functionly.

Invite and Remove User

 

Contents:

 

Inviting users to your workspace

Inviting a user into your workspace will allow them to create their own scenarios within your workspace and view promoted scenarios, if there are any.

When a user is first added to your workspace they won't have access to any of your scenarios until you share them with the user. 

You won't see their new scenarios until they share them with you.

 

 

Steps to invite a new user to your workspace:

  1. On your homepage click "Invite" in the top right

    OR
    With your scenario loaded click "Share" in the top right then "Invite to collaborate" from the dropdown (this will not give them access to that scenario)

  2. Input their email address
  3. Click "Send invite"

 

If a user already has a Functionly account they will then have the option to join your workspace and bring their scenarios with them.

 

Sharing a scenario with another user

If you would like to collaborate on a specific scenario (org chart) with a member of your team then you can share it from within the org chart.

In this section:

 

Scenario access levels

Before you share a scenario it's worth understanding what the different access levels mean. 

  1. Compensation editor
  2. Editor
  3. View & copy

Compensation editor

Adding someone to your scenario as a Compensation editor gives them the highest level of access to your scenario. If you share a scenario with someone by making them a Compensation editor then they can make all of the same changes to your scenario as you including adding or editing compensation data.

 

Editor

The second-highest level of access a user can have for a scenario is as an Editor; they can make structural changes to an org chart, import and add people, assign roles but they do not have access to view or edit compensation data for your scenario.

 

View & copy

When you share a scenario with a user giving them view & copy access they view all the non-control elements of your chart and make a copy so that they can iterate on your version. As with Editors they do not have access to view or edit compensation data and when they copy your scenario the compensation data is not carried over to their new scenario.

 

Steps for sharing specific scenarios:

  1. Open the scenario you would like to collaborate on
  2. Click "Share" in the top right
  3. Select "Share scenario" from the dropdown
  4. Input email address
  5. Select the type of access you want to give them
  6. Click "Share"

 

Sharing a scenario with a user who is not currently a member of your workspace will add them to that workspace by default.

 

Removing a user

 

Remove access to a scenario

If you remove access to a scenario then a user won't be able to view, edit or copy any longer. They will still have access to any copies they've already made and will also be able to create their own scenarios within your workspace. If there are any promoted scenarios then they will also be able to view these.

 

Steps to remove a user's access to a scenario:

  1. Open the scenario you would like to remove access for
  2. Click "Share" in the top right
  3. Select "Share scenario" from the dropdown
  4. Click the dropdown next to their email address on the modal
  5. Select "Remove from this scenario"

Share scenario

 

If you don't want to add someone as a billable user or make changes to the scenario then you can always share a public link with them. 🙂

 

 

 

Remove a user from your workspace

If you remove a user from your workspace then they will no longer be able to create scenarios within your workspace, will lose access to any scenarios they previously had access to (including their own), and will lose access to any copies they made.

Steps to remove from workspace:

  1. On the homepage, click invite in the top right
  2. On the invite, modal click the three dots next to their email address
  3. Select "Remove from workspace"

Invite People

 

OR

 

  1. With a scenario open click "Share" in the top right
  2. Select "Share scenario"
  3. Click the dropdown next to the person's email address
  4. Select "Remove from workspace"

share this scenario

 

 

Have questions about inviting and sharing?

Get in contact with our Support team via the contact us page or email support@functionly.com.